Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

I guess I am a new knife collector but not new to knives

I have been squirreling knives away for probably over 30 years but I never really thought much about it!  That all changed recently when I decided to start actively buying quality knives to actually collect!  Today I decided to gather up all of my folders just to see what I have and I was really surprised!  I rounded up over 20 folders and still have a few more to rediscover in my vehicles and such.  I didn’t even start on my fixed blades, bayonets and machetes!  I am really excited about this new hobby!  Why didn’t I know how much I loved collecting knives until now?

"Always carry a knife with you, just in case there's cheesecake, or you need to stab someone in the throat."  ~General Mattis
[-] The following 2 users Like RocketFoot's post:

I've never considered myself a knife collector. I'm a knife accumulator. I have "a bunch" of knives, both modern & traditional, and all were bought to be used. Every one of them was my new favorite.....for a while. There are only a few that keep ending up back in my pocket though.
[-] The following 1 user Likes Ironbutt's post:

Bayonets to go with my WWI and WWII German and WWII Czech (German occupied & beyond) Mausers started my modest collection. It usted to be old Mausers, then the bayonets, slings etc. to go with them.
   After I finally found all the bayonets I had already caught the knife bug. 
   Then I realized most of the knives I owned weren't what I consider ergonomic and I started buying quality blade blanks and putting them together with handles/scales with materials that I liked and customizing them to fit my hand and purpose. I'm too old to learn forging (can't take the heat and hard work).
   After that it was old German hunting and dress daggers just because they are so damn cool.
   Now it's camp and hunting type knives..........................